A Walk Among The Sheeple

I’m walking in endless footsteps;
To step out of line, impossible.
And to follow is what one expects,
Yet my mind can’t help but dribble
The leap upon my own path-
The sheep long for me to crash.

Once out of line
All you have learned
Will not help worth a dime.
But for this is what I’ve yearned.
Time to choose the road less traveled-
Time to watch as darkness is unraveled.

Falling, falling, deeper, deeper;
Eaten by the abyss, this land is savage.
The sheep bind me stuck to the reaper.
They make it frigid, grotesque, but far too average,
Because with brawn the darkness fades,
after a fight I see the light-
Because with passion I see gloom as bright,
feel pain with no plight.

Now I explore on sand untouched;
My limbs bloodied and scars gnarly.
Through seasoned eyes I see sheep march, forever clutched,
And I feel pity for those who accord and don’t feel sorrily…
Suddenly I waken from this heavenly dream-
Scared of a nightmare because I am but a sheep
churned out by this machine.

About gnarlyoak

"Nestled sporadically over great and endless knolls, devoid of life during dry summer months, the oak trees of Los Altos Hills – so numerous around my home – speak to me in an unheard language. Like any person I am the sum of my successes and failures but unlike the masses I have heard the language of the oaks – I found meaning in their forgotten voice." - Song of the Oak
This entry was posted in Poems and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to A Walk Among The Sheeple

  1. Pingback: Thursday Poets Rally Week 32 (November 4-10) | Jingle

  2. Pingback: Agreement 4 Thursday Poets Rally Week 32 Participants… | Promising Poets' Parking Lot

  3. Jingle says:

    welcome in,
    your words pain vivid images.
    beautiful poem.

  4. Jingle says:

    have fun.
    Glad that you understood and on a good shape participating.
    your poem adds delightful light to our Rally.

  5. This is lovely.. nice poem..

    Three Knots

    Happy Rally !

    –Someone Is Special–

  6. Lisa says:

    Best poem I’ve seen yet. Anyone not the same as the others gets spit out, so you conform. Just gorgeous. Worthy of publishing.

  7. Kumi says:

    Thank you for sharing such imagery

  8. Lovely Annie says:

    Hey…Nice to see you at Thursdays Poet Rally!

    Raw, Intense, smooth, and authentic! those are some of the words that come to mind after reading your poem. I dig your style!

  9. G. K. Asante says:

    Great way of describing today’s discourse. Well done.

  10. Shashi says:

    Powerful last lines… Great work. I enjoyed it so much.. thanks for sharing…

    ॐ नमः शिवाय
    Om Namah Shivaya
    Twitter: @VerseEveryDay
    Blog: http://shadowdancingwithmind.blogspot.com

  11. Morganna says:

    Wow. Great job. I like it.

  12. Jamie Dedes says:

    Nicely done. Stirs the emotions. Good choice of entry to Rally. I’m here from there.

    I hope you enjoy your visits and visiting.

  13. Glory says:

    I loved it. Walking ones own path gives you lessons unlearned, drums unbeaten, and heart thumping adventures untraveled

  14. Anita (Aquarius63) says:

    Exceptional piece. Well done.

    Anita.

  15. Great poem. I appreciated the word play of sheep, paths and terrain… allowed me to really visual this poem in my head…

  16. nice poem.. could visualize it in my mind 🙂 well expressed!

    My Rally Entry

  17. Sumit Sarkar says:

    Fantastic creation…
    Great poem… 🙂

    “Once out of line
    All you have learned
    Will not help worth a dime.”

    We can use this in our life too.. 🙂

  18. Shawn Bird says:

    I like the title. Sheeple. Very evocative.
    Happy Rally.
    My entry: http://shawnbird.com/2010/11/06/old-love/
    Shawn

  19. Jingle says:

    how are you?
    reminding you silly and the same stuff;
    return favors,
    do 18 NEW….
    let me know after you are done.

    here is mine:
    http://itistimetothinkformyself.blogspot.com/2010/11/today-i-write-it-down.html

  20. julielaing says:

    Thanks for sharing this piece for the rally! I must admit, I was drawn to it by curiosity about what a “sheeple” was. But the opening stanza drew me in.

  21. gnarlyoak says:

    Thank you all for the encouraging words!

  22. Pingback: Thursday Poets Rally Week 32 Participation Awards | Promising Poets' Parking Lot

  23. -3- says:

    Your poem works especially well for me. My blog title, The Third Road, is based on the thought of rather the road less traveled, cutting off to find a new third road of one’s own. I like very much how you played with the tensions there, and how well the poem can be read on a larger social scale as well.

    my rally:
    http://thirdroad.wordpress.com/2010/11/05/past-poetic-part-ii/

  24. Pingback: Wow, These Are Rare Talents In Poetry….Rally Week 32 Highlight | Promising Poets' Parking Lot

  25. Pingback: Blogger of Note | The Gnarly Oak

  26. Pingback: Blogger of Note at Words of Wisdom | The Gnarly Oak

Leave a Reply

