Enchanted Forest

Avoiding the bleak gray was my day’s will,
So I went on a journey through rain to find a great hill;
Whilst on the road I saw a hawk in cloudy sky
And drove to the spot where I saw it dive.

Not a few steps and I was caked thick with muck,
But ‘twas for adventure I came, so I was in luck.
Hiking up steep I could see the buckeye tree’s peak
And from there I knew the mountain would speak.

Round twisted branches and sharp crags began descent
to a limbed cave so gnarly – this enchanted forest I went.
Beyond the squat oaks was a misted, foggy view,
From this new perspective all my troubles went askew.

And once back to safety I was met with a grin;
I realized there was no greater my day could have been.

About gnarlyoak

"Nestled sporadically over great and endless knolls, devoid of life during dry summer months, the oak trees of Los Altos Hills – so numerous around my home – speak to me in an unheard language. Like any person I am the sum of my successes and failures but unlike the masses I have heard the language of the oaks – I found meaning in their forgotten voice." - Song of the Oak
This entry was posted in Poems and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Enchanted Forest

  1. ro11it says:

    great poem. very vivid description, i can picture it very clearly in my head. i can relate to it.

  2. This reminds me of the many days I’ve spent in our place in the province (minus the mist). Thanks for dropping by my blog.

    ~Leah
    (http://simplesplendidthings.wordpress.com/)

  3. Shashi says:

    Dear Gnarly Oak

    Perfect detour.. and I am glad that you enjoyed it. I enjoyed my trek with you… and your words..
    Thanks

    ॐ नमः शिवाय
    Om Namah Shivaya
    Twitter: @VerseEveryDay
    Blog: http://shadowdancingwithmind.blogspot.com

  4. Jingle says:

    awesome entry.
    Thanks for sharing with potluck…
    claim award/treats via #160 week 1o.
    have a fun day.

Leave a Reply

