Shoes In My Brain

There is a pair of shoes
Walking in my brain.
They go around in circles;
A never ending train.

As they stalk around my mind
Their muscles only strengthen;
Yet with every footstep,
My thoughts, they only lengthen.

It is for my own well being
That I need for them to lull;
But trained they have my whole life
So more strength I need to cull.

Once I figure how to stop them,
I may be lost for action;
But I can see that it will help me
Find a greater satisfaction.

And on they keep marching
As if they know where they are going.
I’ll stop these shoes because I want to learn;
There is so much more worth knowing.

About gnarlyoak

"Nestled sporadically over great and endless knolls, devoid of life during dry summer months, the oak trees of Los Altos Hills – so numerous around my home – speak to me in an unheard language. Like any person I am the sum of my successes and failures but unlike the masses I have heard the language of the oaks – I found meaning in their forgotten voice." - Song of the Oak
This entry was posted in Poems and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Shoes In My Brain

  1. Reflections says:

    Lovely words, nice poem.

  2. dasuntoucha says:

    Champion piece…it brought a smile to my face (^_^)…nicely done.

  3. Jingle says:

    cute thinking..

    Thanks for sharing..

    Here is one of my entries, an award is attached, thanks for the support.

    http://thursdaypoetsrallypoetry.wordpress.com/2010/11/08/my-sister-lives-too-far-away/

  4. fiveloaf says:

    cute- very cute and funny how it moves about haha!

  5. Jessicas Japes says:

    fascinating idea! love the mystery of those walking feet.

    http://jessicasjapes.wordpress.com/2010/11/08/my-fortress/

  6. great poem. loved the metaphor. excellent choices in language. good job!

  7. Pingback: Blogger of Note | The Gnarly Oak

  8. Pingback: Blogger of Note at Words of Wisdom | The Gnarly Oak

Leave a Reply

