Prying Open My Third Eye

I have so much anger, so much pain;
There is stress welling up inside my brain.
Then I caught the oak on the hill yonder:
Prying open my third eye, my thoughts stop to wander.

I stare entranced in its trunk and limbs,
Chanting in my head a repetitive hymn.
A squirrel looks too, we see into its past:
Prying open my third eye, my troubles go fast.

Tempests and draughts tested this oak’s strength,
Bud did it no harm as it gained in length.
I’m weakened by words – the oak doesn’t care:
Prying open my third eye, now I feel no despair.

The Hill Yonder

About gnarlyoak

"Nestled sporadically over great and endless knolls, devoid of life during dry summer months, the oak trees of Los Altos Hills – so numerous around my home – speak to me in an unheard language. Like any person I am the sum of my successes and failures but unlike the masses I have heard the language of the oaks – I found meaning in their forgotten voice." - Song of the Oak
This entry was posted in Poems and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Prying Open My Third Eye

  1. myrna says:

    This is a lovely poem. I wish I could pry my third eye open.

  2. Sunflowerdiva says:

    Wonderful poem. Rhyming is something I struggle with, as well as rhythm. But this poem I found had a nice beat to it, and a nice thought about seeing with our “third eye.”

  3. Pingback: Thursday Poets Rally Week 32 (November 4-10) | Jingle

  4. brian says:

    seems we both went on spiritual journeys into nature today…smiles at the squirrel…they are so playful…keeping eyes open. smiles.

  5. Jamie Dedes says:

    Opening the third eye: a worthy challenge and worthy poem. Nice work.

    Poem on …

  6. Jingle says:

    lovely poem.
    Thanks for sharing.

  7. Shashi says:

    Interesting… The concept of third eye goes long way back into the vedic times of Indian spirituality and is essence of mysticism and associated with Lord Shiva. Your take on this is so interesting and beautiful. I liked it so much. Thanks for sharing wonderful words…

    ॐ नमः शिवाय
    Om Namah Shivaya
    Twitter: @VerseEveryDay
    Blog: http://shadowdancingwithmind.blogspot.com

  8. alakaline says:

    we have two eyes.. and yet the third eye shows us things not seen before!

  9. Lovely poem. Keep writing….

  10. Pingback: Blogger of Note | The Gnarly Oak

  11. Pingback: Blogger of Note at Words of Wisdom | The Gnarly Oak

Leave a Reply

