Arastradero Preserve

The Arastradero Preserve

About gnarlyoak

"Nestled sporadically over great and endless knolls, devoid of life during dry summer months, the oak trees of Los Altos Hills – so numerous around my home – speak to me in an unheard language. Like any person I am the sum of my successes and failures but unlike the masses I have heard the language of the oaks – I found meaning in their forgotten voice." - Song of the Oak
This entry was posted in Pictures and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Arastradero Preserve

  1. Hello, Ryan, I’ve been in the hospital a bit and this is my first chance to browse the blogosphere. Thank you for the invitation to visit your site. Your photography is haunting and your hills are beautiful. I have enjoyed reading your poems too, because you are so clearly intrigued with deeper things in life.

    You asked me for advice on “getting things off the ground,” and it makes me smile. I have no idea! Last year I created my blog as an accidental experiment in creating a forum for my poetry and essays. I began building a readership and a network by simply querying blogger for my key words, and then following the links on the blog rolls of other bloggers. I read lots of blogs and commented frequently on those I liked. Gradually, I’ve built a small group of friends and still keep reaching out further.

    You’re in school, it sounds like, because of that “bogus class” on life skills. Your fantasy article was clearly too much for your teacher! Here’s something to think about: Tone down the ancient Celtic lore by bringing in references to modern life. I’m thinking of the “Roads” poem. Roads are real things, tangible and concrete to modern readers. Bring in more blending with the activities and environment of “real” life. Imagine “Ryan Griffiths” tale with references to cell phones and wi-fi, real human beings as “enemies,” sink him into 21st century life. Add a little of that kind of tension to your poetry. The alchemy might be thrilling!

Leave a Reply

