Winter Sun

It was a forlorn curtain
That left us hidden from the sky
But when the gray velvet lifted
A winter sun flew high.

Although farther in distance
This winter sun keeps its mystic powers still –
For I see grass sprouts shooting
From what was yesterday a barren dirt hill.

About gnarlyoak

"Nestled sporadically over great and endless knolls, devoid of life during dry summer months, the oak trees of Los Altos Hills – so numerous around my home – speak to me in an unheard language. Like any person I am the sum of my successes and failures but unlike the masses I have heard the language of the oaks – I found meaning in their forgotten voice." - Song of the Oak
This entry was posted in Poems and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Winter Sun

  1. Your ability to capture nature is amazing. Thanks for your comments on my hawk poem. One of my most amazing hawk memories was in Los Altos Hill…a hawk circling with a writhing snake hanging from its beak!

Leave a Reply

