Economics

Oh how my mind wanders in Econ class. I found this one scribbled on a page in my economics workbook; I don’t even remember writing it! I must have been lost in some serious revery… It was untitled in its original margin, but I decided on calling it “Economics.”

Waves crash at the bottom of a cliff;
Toes over the edge, I’m high above the ocean.
Looking down, my hands out,
They’re holding products:
Calculator
Pizzas
Robots
Those waves are too strong.
I think I’ll stay up here and watch –
My toes over the edge –
But I’d rather not be holding these products,
These burdens…
I throw them, one by one,
Beyond the cliff,
Into the crashing waves
Below.

The original rough draft in my econ workbook.

About gnarlyoak

"Nestled sporadically over great and endless knolls, devoid of life during dry summer months, the oak trees of Los Altos Hills – so numerous around my home – speak to me in an unheard language. Like any person I am the sum of my successes and failures but unlike the masses I have heard the language of the oaks – I found meaning in their forgotten voice." - Song of the Oak
This entry was posted in Poems and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

