Looming Moon

I look to the sky on a damp fall morn,
The early blue heaven showed streaks
Clawed by many shades of gray.
Far off to the West were mountains
Waiting for the coming day
And above them was a floating rock:
The full glowing moon.

Just as the sun blew its waking horn
From behind the Eastern peaks,
The dim orb stopped; it had something to say:
Come to me, my child, so lost you are;
Here on the craters you will find righteous way.

It is only this globe that these earthly legs can walk
But up there – where it’s glowing – my thoughts forever loom.

But up there – where it’s glowing – do my thoughts always loom.

About gnarlyoak

"Nestled sporadically over great and endless knolls, devoid of life during dry summer months, the oak trees of Los Altos Hills – so numerous around my home – speak to me in an unheard language. Like any person I am the sum of my successes and failures but unlike the masses I have heard the language of the oaks – I found meaning in their forgotten voice." - Song of the Oak
This entry was posted in Poems and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Looming Moon

  1. yngvild says:

    LOVE the photography,
    it looks almost like a painting:)

    “But up there – where it’s glowing – do my thoughts always loom.”- simply beautiful

  2. Pingback: Blogger of Note | The Gnarly Oak

  3. Pingback: Blogger of Note at Words of Wisdom | The Gnarly Oak

  4. Jingle says:

    beautiful…
    Happy Wednesday!

  5. Pingback: Thursday Poets Rally Week 34 (December 2-8) | Jingle

  6. Pingback: Agreement 4 Thursday Poets Rally Week 34 Participants | Promising Poets' Parking Lot

  7. Jingle says:

    welcome to poets rally week 34,
    Glad that you reminded me of this link.
    Happy Rally.

    the imagery on this one is very beautiful!

  8. deadpoet88 says:

    Beautiful imagery! Love your choice of photograph for this too 🙂 Lovely poem!

  9. beautiful I love the imagery portrayed within the flow of the poem! Happy Rally=D

  10. Nature is eternally beautiful! Equally nice is the way you have described it 🙂
    mine is here:
    http://chinmay28.wordpress.com/2010/11/17/a-malignant-grief-2/

  11. Sam373 says:

    “…Far off to the West were mountains
    Waiting for the coming day
    And above them was a floating rock:
    The full and glowing moon.” GREAT!!! ANOTHER KINDRED SPIRIT!

  12. Love the imagery and the flow–thanks for this.

  13. Ina says:

    So beautiful, both picture and poem.

  14. From my few visits to your blog I can see that you are passionate about nature and seem to find just the right phrases to help us see her in new ways. Lovely.
    Victoria

    “B” is for Bougainvillea

  15. julielaing says:

    I was struck by the way you gave the sun a voice with the phrase “waking horn”–what a great way to bring something so often describe through the sense of sight into the piece. Thanks for sharing this one!

  16. Pingback: Festive Poetry From Fabulous Poets (Highlight of Poets Rally Week 34) | Promising Poets' Parking Lot

  17. Pingback: The Celebrate Blogger of 2010 Awards Nomination Announcement | Jingle

  18. Pingback: 2010 in review | The Gnarly Oak

Leave a comment